Search Unity

Somnus

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by Jonas Planck, Dec 18, 2012.

1. Jonas Planck

Jonas Planck

You just knew a day couldn't pass without someone posting a horror game, right? ;)

This is my first try at a game in Unity. I started this about three months back as a project to learn unity, basic game design, and coding. Mostly the coding part. Long story short, I mistakenly thought that an Amnesia-like experiential sort of scary game would be the easiest kind of game to make. It's just an FPS without the S, right? So I built this thing out of code pulled off of Unity Answers and painstakingly learned to modify it to suit my needs. That was the easy part. The next part came when I visited this forum for the first time and saw that there was a bit of a Slenderproblem. I would need to make this thing stand out if it was going to compete with the hundreds of other horror games in development, some of which look like they'll be really good. So I decided to take another approach to it, avoiding heavy-handed scares and haunted-house theatrics and focusing instead on the mood and story.

This is what I got so far: (WEBPLAYA) http://gamejolt.com/games/adventure/somnus/11135/

It's still got a long way to go, but I figured It finally at a point where I could show it to you guys and hopefully get some feedback. So far, I'm the only team member, and I've been kind of working in a vacuum, so I think I probably need some second opinions.

AH! Almost forgot to describe the game.

Somnus is an afterlife few would have guessed awaited them. It is a prison built from the dreams of its captives, ruled at the capricious whim of an unseen master. You must find a way to free the souls who inhabit this place, or face an eternity trapped among them.