Search Unity

iTunes Connect: Tax Info

Discussion in 'iOS and tvOS' started by col000r, Nov 18, 2008.

1. col000r

col000r

I mange to fill in the first 5 points on the contract (my name and stuff), but form then on it gets a little blurry. If anyone could provide a little guidance it would be very much appreciated!

I'm an individual in Europe btw, so no sort of corparation or anything atm...

So: I need a US Taxpayer Identification Number? And from what I understand it's best to call the IRS and ask for one?

What do I check under "Claim of Tax Treaty Benefits"?

I have no idea what "Part III: Notional Principle Contracts" means at all and thus I also can't check Part IV where it threatens me with penalty if I don't know what I'm signing here...

Any advice?

How do I find a good lawyer and how much does one charge for an hour these days?

2. ugur

ugur

pretty much in the same spot, did you get any further?

3. freyr

freyr

(Note I am not a tax lawyer but I have stumbled up on some information about this on the net...)

Apparently you will need to obtain this US Taxpayer Identification Number (or TIN) in order to take advantage of any tax-treaty btw. the US. and your country. Otherwise Apple would be forced to subtract 30% of your earnings as US tax.

You can get the TIN by filing either a W-7 form (for individuals) or SS4 (for businesses.) These forms can be obtained at the IRS website: www.irs.gov. Completing this form will enable the US government to issue you a US TIN.

Here is some more information on claiming tax treaty benifits: http://www.irs.gov/businesses/small/international/article/0,,id=96438,00.html

4. col000r

col000r

I found this tax-stuff to be a big pain in the ***. I was close to letting them have their 30%...

On the back of form SS-4 there's one case that reads: "Is a foreign person needing an EIN to comply with IRS withholding regulations"