Search Unity

Mountain Lion + MacBook Pro Retina -> problem for Unity games

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by colargol, Jul 29, 2012.

  1. colargol

    colargol

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Posts:
    65
    Unity games are wrongly scaled and have shifted cursor position on any fullscreen resolution.
    On 2880 x 1800 you see only left bottom 1/4 of game screen.
    On 1280 x 800 are white borders in top right corner of screen.
    On other resolutions is some combination of this issues.
    This happens after update to Mountain Lion on MacBook Pro Retina with fullscreen.
    Windowed mode is OK.
    With Lion tested games were OK on any fullscreen resolutions.

    Games which I tested:
    AngryBots, AirAttack (both Unity 3.4.2f3 and 3.5.6f4), Samurai II, Paper Monsters, Vitrun, CreaVures, Syder Arcade (first time it was OK), Bad Piggies, Miner Wars

    Solution 1:
    Start game Fullscreen, press Cmd + F, wait a second, again press Cmd + F

    Solution 2:
    System Preferences -> Energy Saver -> Automatic graphics switching [Uncheck]

    Solution 3:
    Code (csharp):
    1.  
    2.     if (Screen.fullScreen)
    3.     {
    4.         //MacBook Pro Retina 15: width = 2880 , MacBook Pro Retina 13: width = 2496 ?
    5.         //could check device model name, but not sure now about retina 13 device model name
    6.         //if last resolution is almost retina resolution...
    7.         var resolutions : Resolution[] = Screen.resolutions;
    8.         if (resolutions.length  resolutions[resolutions.length - 1].width > 2048)
    9.         {
    10.             Screen.fullScreen = false;
    11.             yield;
    12.             Screen.fullScreen = true;
    13.             yield;
    14.         }
    15.     }
    Case 480653
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2012
  2. KeeZ

    KeeZ

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    20
    This just happened to me as well... couldn't understand how everything looked like crap =/
     
  3. colargol

    colargol

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Posts:
    65
    I can test games on MacBook Pro Retina, just PM me the download link...
     
  4. goodhustle

    goodhustle

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    310
    I unfortunately just ran into this problem as well. I have filed a bug with a sample project, thank you for the workarounds.

    Issue 498853.
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2012
  5. JohnyZuper

    JohnyZuper

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Posts:
    174
    Actually, my 27-inch iMac has a resolution of 2560 x 1440. So it's better to check on height than width to determine retina resolutions.

    Thanks for the script!
     
  6. Xemenas

    Xemenas

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Posts:
    28
    Hey,

    I'm running into the same problem and was wondering if Unity ever got back to you? Or is that script the only solution?

    I'm using Unity Pro v3.5.7f6.

    Thanks!
     
  7. JakeT

    JakeT

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Posts:
    34
    Was this ever resolved?
     
  8. F.Salka

    F.Salka

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Posts:
    43
  9. timthecoder

    timthecoder

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Posts:
    22
    I have the same question. I don't have the proper hardware to test. Do we still need to do this hack to get Unity 5 to work properly on MacBook Pro Retina machines?
     
  10. cybertree

    cybertree

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Posts:
    100
    i have macbook pro retina 13" 2015 OS X Yosemite and it works perfectly
     
  11. SeriouSerg

    SeriouSerg

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Posts:
    49
    So, the workaround doesn't needed anymore?
     
  12. cybertree

    cybertree

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Posts:
    100
  13. StealThePixels

    StealThePixels

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Posts:
    68
    Ok on Yosemite and newer version the bug is not showing up, right?
    If so, what about if a player has an OSX version older than Yosemite ?
    Is it a likely use case nowadays?
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2016
  14. DanielQuick

    DanielQuick

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Posts:
    3,137
  15. StealThePixels

    StealThePixels

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Posts:
    68
    Ok that is good.
    Has someone tested the later version (El Captain) against this bug ?

    And also, it seems like the issue has been observed on MountainLion.
    So it would be useful if someone can test Mavericks and Lion as well.

    Anyone?
    I don't have a Mac for now
     
  16. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    6,208
    This bug is from 2012, there have been a lot of changes since then. Have you had anyone report this?
    fwiw, I haven't seen any bugs like this on any current Mac.
     
  17. StealThePixels

    StealThePixels

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Posts:
    68
    No reports, i was just worrying.
    For current Mac you mean they have the latest OS (El Captain)? If so, it's good
     
  18. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    6,208
    Yes - El Capitan and Yosemite.
     
  19. lightbe

    lightbe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Posts:
    8
    Where do we report documentation issues? The page that references the issue with the macbook pro retina device also has a section for building GAMENAME.entitlements that has a link for a website that is no longer active. I posted this on the GitHub for that service but I want to know where to post this in Unity? I am brand new to app development and really need accurate step by step documentation. I don't know enough about the app submission process to know if what I'm doing is correct for unity apps. I do know some of the step numbers referenced near the bottom of the page are incorrect. I also know that it appears that the documentation assumes to use the tool that generates info.plist and GAMENAME.entitlements which does not exist. I have no clue what to do regarding the info.plist file. Is is correct as is?
     
    JayJennings likes this.