Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

UnityEngine.Mathf vs System.Math

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by TheEnigmist, Jul 5, 2012.

1. TheEnigmist

TheEnigmist

I'm new in unity and i don't know what are the difference between Mathf and Math. Which is faster and better optimised? There are difference if i use Math instead of Mathf?

2. Eric5h5

Eric5h5

Volunteer Moderator Moderator

System.Math uses doubles, UnityEngine.Mathf uses floats. Since Unity uses floats, it's generally better to use Mathf so you're not constantly converting floats/doubles.

--Eric

3. Krobill

Krobill

Math is usually faster than Mathf even with the necessary double to float conversion (on PC at least, didn't run the tests on other platforms). So if you don't mind putting (float) everywhere and you're looking for the optimal performances go for Math. Then again if you're really after extreme performances, some operations like Sin and Cos are better handled with home made precomputed results...

4. TheEnigmist

TheEnigmist

What will be the difference if i try to implement my own math lib? Will performance be high or just a bit more?

5. Toasttify

Toasttify

Don't try to reinvent the wheel unless you truly have to, more than likely the original will be faster.

SamFernGamer4k and TV4Fun like this.
  6. TheEnigmist

TheEnigmist

Infact it is only a wast of time :D
    So System.Math is the best! Thx for the info :)

SamFernGamer4k and yaguat like this.
  7. atr0phy

atr0phy

I highly doubt your 'benchmarks' are accurate, regardless. From what I can tell from the assemblies, Mathf is just a wrapper using casts for the respective System.Math functions.

E.g.
    Code (CSharp):
    1. public static float Sqrt(float f) { return (float)Math.Sqrt((double)f); }
    So, if anything, Mathf will generally perform slightly slower.