Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

MOBA Unity development

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by aburnier, Jun 24, 2012.

1. aburnier

aburnier

I am very new to Unity, but I have been searching for a while for an inexpensive/free game engine that could help me develop a MOBA (Multiplayer Online Battle Arena) type game which would function similarly to DOTA or League of Legends. Obviously I am inexperienced, and the project in question would be years in the making and require a team, but I was hoping someone with years of Unity experience could tell me if the desired functions below are possible to develop in Unity:

I would need:

1) Multiplayer/team-based play-style capabilities with matchmaking queues, friend lists, and chat rooms
    2) An aerial third-person game camera which could float freely around the map by moving the mouse cursor to the edge of the screen, but which could also snap back to and track a user's character on command.
    3) A highly-customizable user interface for features such as item slots, menus that allow the re-allocation of ability hotkeys, and a navigable minimap with live updates on character positions and other activity.
    4) A dynamic map which could change shape over the course of a game
    5) Efficient pathfinding for characters controlled by right-clicking on a desired location. This means the ability to navigate terrain and find the best path to a location based on the position of obstacles.
    6) Other MOBA-type elements such as health bars and levels with ability scaling, effects such as stuns, snares, fears, silences, etc...

This is a fairly complex set of functions I want to include. If Unity is not the right software for this sort of thing, could someone let me know a better program I should get my hands on. Assume for the moment that I don't care about the cost.