Search Unity

What do you prefer to read documentation and books on?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by stimarco, May 30, 2012.

?

How do you like to read documentation and manuals?

Poll closed Jul 14, 2012.
  1. Hard copy (including printed PDFs).

55.1%
  2. Online, e.g. on a Wiki, or other CMS.

34.7%
  3. PDF (on-screen only).

49.0%
  4. iBooks (iPad-only)

16.3%
  5. ePUB

8.2%
  6. Kindle

12.2%
  7. Mobi

4.1%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. stimarco

stimarco

I'm in the middle of writing a tutorial and have reached the point where I need to decide what format(s) the documentation should be in. I'm a mild-mannered technical author by day, so I'm naturally interested in exploring new ways of providing my docs and I have plenty of suitable tools.

What do you prefer? Are you an old-school printed book type? Do you like to view docs and manuals on an iPad? A Kindle? Etc.

Also, let me know if I've missed out any preferred formats.

2. Torsh

Torsh

I like printed books. I don't really read ebooks.

3. UnknownProfile

UnknownProfile

I prefer hard copies, but due to medical reasons I have to read digital books from a backlit display (so kindle and nook are out of the question). I generally read books off of my phone.

4. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape

PDF.

1. can be printed if the reader wishes
    2. looks the same on all computers
    3. supports images and diagrams
    4. can merely drag into chrome if have no pdf reader

5. kamisama

kamisama

I was reading a PDF when I clicked on this thread.

6. npsf3000

npsf3000

Everything but online.

Printed is best for reading... but are cumbersome.
    PDF's are generally good - particularly as it's easy to navigate.
    I have a kindle and like it, but it's navigation prevents skimming/jumping around which is a bit of a nuisance for learning - great for novels.

Don't think CMS/wiki is a good fit though.

7. khanstruct

khanstruct