Search Unity

[SUBMITTED] HyperGlyph - stroke/vector based Gesture Recognizer

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by JacobPennock, May 14, 2012.

1. JacobPennock

JacobPennock

Hey Unity community! This is my first plugin release to the asset store. Its called HyperGlyph and is a stroke based gesture recognizer. It lets you match player drawn shapes against your own gesture templates very quickly and easily.

Maybe you are making a platformer/beat-um-up where the players must draw spells to do power attacks or maybe you are dreaming up a star fleet commander game where player drawn shapes control ship formations, maybe an Ōkami or Infinity Blade clone? I don't know, but this plugin will help make it super easy.

Gesture Sets work just like any other standard unity asset, with inspector previews of templates and the works.

I have been a HCI/gestural interactions researcher for a number of years. The underlying algorithm is very accurate and was designed for use in games from the start. It is about as, if not more accurate then any other system you will find. But more then most other systems, even though it is very good at matching input to things within the gesture set it is also very good at rejecting false positives and input outside of the template set. So no more situations like the player scribbles anything he wants and the power attack happens. How strict the recognizer should be as well as other options are easily configurable through the inspector.

Here is a quick video of it running on an android tablet compared to the $1 recognition algorithm:

Supports Unity free and pro with themes for each skin.
    Supports all build targets. (At least it should, I have not tried flash)

I submitted over the weekend so hopefully it should be in the store sometime this week.
    I'm pricing it at $25 till the end of June and then $50 after that.

Please let me know what you think, or ask any questions you might have.