Search Unity

bezier curves through script

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by roger0, May 4, 2012.

1. roger0

roger0

I'm trying to understand how to create bezier curves through script, so I can create new tools for my games. I have a general idea of how they work from wikipedia and this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YATikPP2q70. Although, I have no clue as to where to start with the code.

I'm very new to this type of math so I will need things to really be broken down for me. Basiclly, I want a tool that will draw out bezier curves in game.

mekartikshah likes this.
  2. YosemiteSam

YosemiteSam

Based on the video it's something like this:

Code (csharp):
    1. function Casteljau(p1 : Vector3, p2 : Vector3, p3 : Vector3, p4 : Vector3, iterations : int)
    2. {
    3.     var stepping : float = 1.0 / iterations;
    5.     for (var x : float = 0.0; x <= 1.0; x += stepping)
    6.     {
    7.         var ap1 : Vector3 = Vector3.Lerp(p1, p2, x);
    8.         var ap2 : Vector3 = Vector3.Lerp(p2, p3, x);
    9.         var ap3 : Vector3 = Vector3.Lerp(p3, p4, x);
    11.         var bp1 : Vector3 = Vector3.Lerp(ap1, ap2, x);
    12.         var bp2 : Vector3 = Vector3.Lerp(ap2, ap3, x);
    14.         var p : Vector3 = Vector3.Lerp(bp1, bp2, x);
    16.         // Place a vertex at p
    17.     }
    18. }

3. roger0

roger0

What can you do with that script and where does it go? Could you explain whats going on?

4. YosemiteSam

YosemiteSam

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bezier_curve#Higher-order_curves

See the diagram here. P0, P1, P2 and P3 in the diagram correspond to p1, p2, p3 and p4 in the function. Q0, Q1 and Q2 correspond to ap1, ap2 and ap3. R0 and R1 correspond to bp1 and bp2. B corresponds to p.