Unity Community

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: c++? c#?

1. Posts

c++? c#?

Hello everybody,

I am new to the Unity community and have a couple of questions. I have an Android phone that I would eventually like to upgrade Unity to, but for now I have to stick with Unity Free and do the web build.

1. can you use c++ with Unity? I have virtually no programming skills but I have the option to take a c++ or c# college course. My college recommends I take c++ but I wanted to ask some real devs. which is better? why or why not? does c++ work for flash game development?

2. I will be working alone with Unity, are there any pointers for a newbie, tutorials, hints tips etc for starting out?

I really appreciate all the help. I have read some posts in this thread but not all of them. It looks like the community is doing some great things with Unity. Keep up the good work and Thank you all.

2. Location
    Rapid City, SD, USA
    1) You sure can use c++ in unity, but that's only for native code plugins. If you have virtually no programming experience don't bother with C++. I had no programming experience when I tried learning it and I gave up. I found it a nightmare to use for a newbie. However, with C# I can at least remember some of what I program. Imo, use C++ if you understand basic programming concepts or if you know another language all together. As for if C++ works with with flash, I'm not sure I would assume so but I'll leave that to someone else.

2) Check the various stickies out in the teaching section. Start as simple as you can and work your way up from there. Don't expect to be able to program an rpg or anything complicated for your first game.

Edit: also, here is a link to the license comparison: http://unity3d.com/unity/licenses

3. Volunteer Moderator
    You don't really use C++ in Unity. You can in certain specialized cases, such as plugins, but not for scripting. And definitely not for Flash.

--Eric