Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Implementing C# MIDI Toolkit

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Lastair, Mar 21, 2012.

1. Lastair

Lastair

Basically, I want to implement this in a Unity project:

http://www.codeproject.com/Articles/6228/C-MIDI-Toolkit

The idea is to read a MIDI file and play it back while running animations pre-generated based on the MIDI events, so I need the full functionality. Anyway, as I'm somewhat new to coding in general, I'm not exactly sure how to make it work for me. I just extracted the entire thing into my Assets folder on my first attempt, which resulted in this error that I couldn't make much sense of:
    The code seems to use DLLs, so does this mean I would need Unity Pro to make it work as a plugin? I understand it takes a bit of effort to check out something like this, and the download is behind a login wall, but I'd really appreciate it. Or if there's some fundamental reason I can't just shove in any C# code I find on the Internet, it'd also be nice if someone could shed light on that. :)

If it's not possible without Pro (or just not possible in general), I'd really appreciate hints on any other ways to approach reading events from MIDI files and MIDI playback. Coding it on my own seems like it'd be well beyond my abilities, and the only MIDI-related thing in the Asset Store I could find ("MIDI Unified") requires the Pro license and doesn't seem to have the capabilities for playing back MIDI files or reading the event data from them directly, just reacting in real time to MIDI events being generated from other sources.

Help would be greatly appreciated. :)

2. Lastair

Lastair