Search Unity

Skylebones - Void Pirate - WIP Contest Entry

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by skylebones, Mar 20, 2012.

1. skylebones

skylebones

I've decided to make an entry for the Space Battle Character Contest by Mixamo ( Thread here ). I've never done a female character before, and figure this is a great opportunity to try my hand at it and learn something. I'll post my progress/workflow along the way.

Here she sits currently. I spent the weekend blocking out her basic form in zbrush using dynamesh.

For those who are curious, here is the base mesh I created in Softimage on Friday and brought over to zbrush. It's quick and ugly, and I'm almost embarrassed to post it. but it worked well as a starting point for my zbrush model and it shows how this started.

Next up, do some concept paintings over my model and bring my zbrush model into 3D coat to create a retopo'd low poly mesh to block out the clothing/armor/artificial limb bits.

Thanks for checking it! I'll have some more progress soon and any feedback would be awesome.

Last edited: Mar 24, 2012
  2. Mixamo

Mixamo

Great looking start Skylebones.

Might be your first female sculpt but not your first time in zBrush.

Just a question, you have some triangles in the base mesh you imported into zBrush any reason you didn't make the entire mesh quads? Do you remove the pucker problem with trim dynamic brush, or something along those lines?

Can't wait to see more. P.S. Amazing work on your site. Honored to have someone like yourself entering!

3. skylebones

skylebones

Hey thanks!