Search Unity

  1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

3.5 Webplayer, ScrollView, MissingMethodException

Discussion in 'Developer Preview Archive' started by npsf3000, Feb 13, 2012.

  1. npsf3000

    npsf3000

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Posts:
    3,830
    I'm using 3.4 latest, but have 3.5 on my system for another client. Sadly the latest web-player [3.5] doesn't appear to like me:

    http://pastebin.com/drYbmVN5

    I have reported this via the in-editor reporter.
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2012
  2. Paul Usul

    Paul Usul

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Posts:
    49
    I have this exact problem to! and its live on clients site, have you found any solution? Any help is greatly appreciated!!!

    As far as I can tell this happened after my web player was updated to 3.5, I just cant figure out why this would happen.
    The build that has this problem was built with 3.4.2

    This is from my log:
    System.MissingMethodException: Method not found: 'UnityEngine.GUILayout.BeginScrollView'.

    at SaveLoadInterface.OnGUIDraw () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    UnityEngine.Debug:Internal_Log(Int32, String, Object)
    UnityEngine.Debug:LogError(Object)
    SaveLoadInterface:OnGUIDraw()
    HUDDrawOrder:OnGUI()
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2012
  3. GuyTidhar

    GuyTidhar

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Posts:
    320
    I am having the same error and is already a part of a bug I have reported,
     
  4. Paul Usul

    Paul Usul

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Posts:
    49
    Awesome!

    Have you found a solution or a workaround?

    I just found out that this is affecting every single player we have built since 2010.
    That's about 9 manufactures, 1 real estate company and a fortune 500..
    That can't log in, save or load any of their data. sh*t
     
  5. CreativeChris

    CreativeChris

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    457
    Hey guys,

    Sorry about this one, do you have the case id, so I can investigate this asap?

    Thanks,
    Chris
     
  6. Paul Usul

    Paul Usul

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Posts:
    49
    Hi, thanks for the attention :)

    My college is filling out a bug report, I have created a web player mini-project that demonstrate the simplest form of the bug that I can produce.

    http://lovemyhome.de/test/webplayer/WebPlayer.html
    When you click "Start test" the gui will start drawing a scrollView. It is essential that you supply the scrollView with a style for the bug to appear, can't quite figure out why.
    The "If you can see this message all is okay" text will disappear after the test is started because of null pointers.

    Here is a link to the entire project:
    http://lovemyhome.de/test/webplayerUnityTestProjekt.rar

    All I did was build a web player and enable streaming.
    Also the style uses a picture and has borders in it.

    [Edit]
    Bug does not appear when running web player 3.4.
    Bug does not seem to appear when running a web player 3.5 that was upgraded from 3.2.
    [swap] If the bug does/doesn't occur re-installing web player 3.5 wont/will make it occur.
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2012
  7. npsf3000

    npsf3000

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Posts:
    3,830
    443275 for me.

    The workaround for me is simply to remove the scroll-view call [it's on one screen that doesn't need it ATM] - but others may have a harder time. What does surprise me that something as simple as this could get through QA. Maybe a couple more tests need to be added :p

    I just noticed that my calls do appear to have styles or something [ I'm running a modified version of the uLink client script - so my knowledge isn't intimate].

    Code (csharp):
    1.  
    2. scrollPosition = GUILayout.BeginScrollView(scrollPosition, "Box");
    3.  
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2012
  8. Joachim_Ante

    Joachim_Ante

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,203
    Thank you. We reproduced the issue and will release a hotfix very soon.

    Until then, building your webplayer with Unity 3.5 should fix the issue.
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2012
  9. npsf3000

    npsf3000

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Posts:
    3,830
    Good to know - it's nice to see a bug report responded to :p
     
  10. Paul Usul

    Paul Usul

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Posts:
    49
    Thank you so much! I will sleep a lot better this weekend thanks to that message :)
     
  11. perlohmann

    perlohmann

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Posts:
    221
    That is not really a viable option for us as we have 20+ products to upgrade, build, test and deploy.
    Are there by chance any method to force a user to use a specific version of the unity plugin (I know there is with major version, but are there also for minor versions)? If not that would pehaps be an idea for the next release.

    //perlohmann
     
  12. djinni69

    djinni69

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Posts:
    174
    I can't explain how glad I am to see this post. I thought I was losing my mind!
     
  13. djinni69

    djinni69

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Posts:
    174
    Any update on this issue? It's a show-stopper for my clients, and upgrading to 3.5 at this time is totally out of the question
     
  14. perlohmann

    perlohmann

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Posts:
    221
    Same question as djinni69. Please give an update as soon as anybody know anything.
     
  15. Joachim_Ante

    Joachim_Ante

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,203
    We are going to ship a hotfix this week.
     
  16. perlohmann

    perlohmann

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Posts:
    221
    Any news on this? The week is almost over (not counting the weekend). =)
     
  17. Kaspar-Daugaard

    Kaspar-Daugaard

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Posts:
    150
    Hi, the hotfix is released. I'm not sure if you need to download the player or auto update will take care of it.
     
  18. perlohmann

    perlohmann

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Posts:
    221
    Is that something you can find out? it would be nice to know.

    At a first glance it does not look as if the autoupdate takes care of it. 08:50 CET
    When I enter our site the bug is still present. I have tried clearing the cache to see if that should help, but it does not.

    our CTO tested it on saterday at 17:00 CET and at that time the autoupdate seemed to work.

    It works after I manually installed the new webplayer plugin, but I would still like to know if we should spend time on creating alternative solutions for the clients.
     
  19. Kaspar-Daugaard

    Kaspar-Daugaard

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Posts:
    150
    Hi, we are testing making the webplayer auto update to the fixed version. Also we are looking at our process for releasing the web plugin to make these issues less likely to happen, and giving you a priority channel for reporting issues with new players.
     
  20. Joachim_Ante

    Joachim_Ante

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,203
    Currently the autoupdate does not force update 3.5f5 players. Newly installed webplayers will use 3.5f6 which has fixed the issue.


    We are working on a 3.5.1 hotfix that we are aiming to release next week or the week after. When we ship that, we will force update all 3.5f5 3.5f6 players to 3.5.1.


    Until then you can detect the 3.5f5 player from JavaScript and ask the user to reinstall the plugin. The amount of installed webplayers with 3.5f5 is fairly limited. Sorry for the inconvenience.
     
  21. perlohmann

    perlohmann

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Posts:
    221
    Thank you both for the information.