Search Unity

Moving Gears

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by ctsteve123, Jul 12, 2008.

1. ctsteve123

ctsteve123

I am new at this. I have tried making two horizontal gears, with one gear driving the other.

I have assigned both gears a hinge joint so they will rotate. On one gear I have added a constant torque. I have also assigned a mesh collider to each

The problem is that that gear teeth do not cause a collision when hit, but simply pass through each other.

Also when I do not check use gravity in the rigidbody the gear does not move.

Attached Files:

2. ctsteve123

ctsteve123

Saw this in the Mesh Collider docs.
    I tried checking the convex box and the gear only slightly moves, but looks like it is trying to move.

3. ctsteve123

ctsteve123

On the driving gear I added a simple scipt:

Code (csharp):
    1. function Update () {
    3.     transform.Rotate( Vector3.up * Time.deltaTime );
    4. }
    to drive the gear instead of the hinge , constant torque and rigidbody, which I deleted.

Still the same problem.

4. Adrian

Adrian

5. ctsteve123

ctsteve123

Adrian , Thanks for the reply.

I really wish there was an easier way. It is alot of work to add individual box colliders to the teeth ( and a bit of a kluge).

Maybe I have to look into making the gears from a script?

6. olin

olin

Travis East's GearTrain calculates the angular velocity of the final driven gear in a gear chain. The user enters the revolutions per minute and direction of the first driver gear along with information about the number of teeth of each gear in the series. The program will output the RPM and direction of the final driven gear in the gear train. The program can also calculate the linear velocity using a variety of metric and standard units. It was designed as a tool for educators and students wishing to learn or check calculations for a gear chain in a Technology Education or Robotics program.

http://homepage.mac.com/teast/

7. GargerathSunman