Search Unity

C# Multi-dimensional Arrays in Flash

Discussion in 'Flash' started by fanjules, Jan 3, 2012.

1. fanjules

fanjules

I immediately noticed that none of my scripts with multi-dimensional arrays don't work when compiled to Flash. :(

Somebody suggested using [][] notation instead of [,] but I wasn't entirely sure on how to. I'm quite new to C# but I did recognise [][] arrays as something that Actionscript uses. In Actionscript multidimensional arrays can be of irregular sizes along the length of the array, and that's exactly how the [][] style arrays work in C#. The downside is that the performance is crap... according to this page 8x slower than normal C# rectangular arrays: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/magazine/cc163995.aspx

Rectangular arrays are touted by Unity as being superfast (they refer to them as "builtin arrays" in Javascript). You will know how they work as follows:

Declaration:
    float[,] myarray=new float[32,32];

Find the lengths of each dimension:
    Lx=myarray.GetLength(0);Ly=myarray.GetLength(1);

Get a value:
    n=myarray[5,3];

Jagged arrays work as follows, heres the equiverlent declaration, noting that for each element on one axis you have to declare a whole new array within an array. Actionscripters will be familiar with this particularly laboursome task!
    float[][] myarray=new float[32][];
    for(n=0;n<myarray.Length;n++){myarray[n]=new float[32];}

Find the lengths of each dimension (noting that each dimension could have a different length to it's neighbour since they are, after all - jagged!).
    Lx=mylength.Length;Ly=mylength[0].Length;

Get a value:
    n=myarray[5][4];