Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Which Scripting Language?

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by J Dog Hombrey, Jun 18, 2008.

1. J Dog Hombrey

J Dog Hombrey

As the title of this topic may suggest, I am wondering which of the 3 scripting languages supported by unity I should use.

I have no experience with any of these languages. I have a tiny bit of experience with c-script (Different to C#) and that's all.

I'd like to use one that would be easy for someone from a non-programming background to pick up (Provided that doesn't mean less flexibility)

Look forward to hearing from you all

Jeff

2. Marc

Marc

I prefer C# easy to use and IDEs exist that have intellisense like systems. It is an imperiative language just like JavaScript and the version unity is using so not much difference there. I just really dislike dynamic typing as Javascript contains as it can lead to some time spent debugging simple type errors. Other than that think they are fairly equal in learning curve. I have never used Boo so dunno about that.

Guess one way is to look at some of the tutorials and see which one you find the easiest to pick up.

Regards,
    Marc

3. Omar Rojo

Omar Rojo

Use javascript:

- easy to use
    - faster to code
    - source codes are smaller
    - no geek-language-knowledge required
    - documentation almost complete with js examples
    - simple to understand
    - automagically helps you with stuff
    - almost everybody here knows js so they can help

4. StarManta

StarManta

Each language has its advantages. The biggest difference is this: Javascript makes it easier to write code, but much easier to write slower code.

5. Dreamora

Dreamora