Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Getting Started with Coding for Unity

Discussion in 'Community Learning & Teaching' started by Adam-Buckner, Dec 1, 2011.

1. Adam-Buckner

Adam-Buckner

This is a sticky for links to resources that will help new users to get started coding with Unity.

[Please NOTE! This thread is not intended as a support or scripting thread for help with specific coding issues. Please use the Support or Scripting sections for that.]

The first place to go, is the scripting topic in the Learn section of the Unity site:

http://unity3d.com/learn/tutorials/modules/beginner/scripting

Then, if you want more, here are some additional resources for learning C#:
    C-Sharp Station: Tutorials
    LearnCS.org - Interactive C# Tutorials
    C# Fundamentals: Development for Absolute Beginners
    C# for Beginners – Microsoft Virtual Academy
    C# Yellow Book
    Catlike Coding C# Tutorials

ARCHIVED LINKS BELOW (I have not vetted these, and they could be stale):

Archived resources for learning CS:
    Visual C-Sharp Tutorials: Introduction to programming
    C Sharp Fundamentals Development for Absolute Beginners
    Catlikecoding: Unity Tutorials
    Unify Wiki: C-Sharp Tutorial

Here are some resources for learning UnityScript (Unity's "JavaScript"):

Unify Wiki: Programming
    Unify Wiki: Head First into Unity with UnityScript
    Newbie guide to Unity Javascript (long)

(UnityScript.com: What was a very good site for the absolute beginner learning UnityScript, but now only available thru the Internet Archives... Sadly many images and the pdf is missing.)

Here are some resources for learning language-independent concepts:
    Which kind of array or collection should I use?

- This is not a thread to discuss the differences or advantages of one language over another. -

2. Nomad72

Nomad72