Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

PointCloud Shader - Shader that renders a single pixel per vertex - Possible?

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by J450N, Nov 28, 2011.

1. J450N

J450N

I'm a total noob at writing shaders and wanted to ask the community if they thought this was possible before wasting tons of hours of experimenting to find out it's not.

What I'm attempting to do it render a pointcloud in Unity made up of many millions of points. Each point has an X,Y,Z position and an R,G,B color value. What I have been able to do so far is push these points into Particle Emitters and I get pretty decent performance (about 17fps at 500,000 points spread out over 30 emitters). If I want to push my point count over into the millions, I think I'm going to need to do something a bit more streamlined.

I'm wondering it it'd be possible / feasible / advisable to do something like:

01.] Custom shader that can render verts as 1 pixel color values based on vertex color:
    - Create a MeshFilter with Vertex array for each point in the pointcloud.
    - Apply the pointcloud's color value to the vertex color value.
    - Write some kind of shader that can render color values of each vertex (even though they are not triangulated / connected / have no faces)

02.] Do some other sort of low-level draw function that can handle millions of points:
    - Maybe using something like the GL class in Unity API

I'm a bit of a special case in that I have full control over platform / hardware in implementing this solution so I have the freedom to use methods that don't work everywhere. I'd be curious to know if anyone with more experience in shader writing has recommendations on which route to go, or if you'd like to discourage me from attempting this altogether.

-Thanks

2. Slin

Slin