Search Unity

Recommendations for 3D TV? Preferably passive

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DaveA, Nov 19, 2011.

1. DaveA

DaveA

I want to display my app on a big 3D TV. Looking at LG and Samsung. Does anyone know if this can be done? I'm thinking with Tri-DEF, DDD, or NVidias 3DTV drivers?

2. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape

Same I'm in the market for a decent realD passive 3dTV. I prefer non powered non-shutter glasses due to the fact whenever I use shutter ones, I tend to get stuck in a cycle of blinking to see the shutter effect. It's like some geeky tic.

3. DaveA

DaveA

I have had limited success with TriDEF 3.5. The BootCamp demo looks fine, but simple scenes don't go 3D at all. Tested with Samsung HL50A650C1

4. Bankie

Bankie

I got a 42" LG passive 3D TV recently, and converted the car tutorial (2 cameras, side by side, squashed viewports on x axis). Amazingly easy to do (and I'm new to Unity), and a very pleasing 3D effect. If anyone wants the detail, just reply.

5. scarpelius

scarpelius

Wouldn't hurt to make a tutorial :)

6. yuriythebest

yuriythebest

unity3d already works with iz3d/ddd/nvidia 3d vision (I tested only with iz3d)- you don't need to add any code but it's best to test them on each driver before release to make sure everything renders on the correct depth/looks good

If you want a good passive monitor get a Zalman 3d 24'

7. reissgrant

reissgrant

I would also be interested if anyone has any suggestions.

8. Bankie

Bankie

Fair point - I've played with the trial version of iz3d, and it's pretty good, other than playing havoc with YouTube. Two reasons for offering native 3D support: the user doesn't have to buy anything extra and you can control the parameters (convergence how far apart the 2 cameras are) on the fly. Case in point is HL2, where the intro is very uncomfortable to watch because of close-up graphics.

I'd love one of those but I couldn't fit a 24 foot monitor in the room. ;)

9. Bankie

Bankie