Search Unity

Button in Inspector to Call Function in C#

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by grooc, Aug 30, 2011.

1. grooc

grooc

Hello,

i have searched fpr a long time, but i really don't know what i am missing exactly. I want to have a button in the inspector, that calls a function of that script. I know that things work easier in js, but i have no experience in it. I know that some reference is missing, because i can not use "target" like shown in many js examples about this. unfortunatly, i could not find any example in C#.

I have the COlliderCreatorEditor Class in a folder Called Editor. The other Script is in a folder called "Scripts"

Code (csharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    2. using UnityEditor;
    3. using System.Collections;
    5. [CustomEditor(typeof(ColliderCreator))]
    6. public class ColliderCreatorEditor : Editor {
    8.     // some declaration missing??
    10.     override public void  OnInspectorGUI () {
    11.         if(GUILayout.Button("End")) {
    12.         target.endTrigger(); // how do i call this?
    13.          }
    14.         DrawDefaultInspector();
    15.     }
    16. }

The Class to be called
    Code (csharp):
    1. public class ColliderCreator : MonoBehaviour {
    3.     public bool start = false;
    4.     ....
    5.         public void endTrigger()
    Can you help me?

2. Ntero

Ntero

target is of type object
    http://unity3d.com/support/documentation/ScriptReference/Editor-target.html

Your code has no idea what it is until you explicitly tell it what it is.

Code (csharp):
    2. using UnityEngine;
    3. using UnityEditor;
    4. using System.Collections;
    6. [CustomEditor(typeof(ColliderCreator))]
    7. public class ColliderCreatorEditor : Editor {
    9.     // some declaration missing??
    11.     override public void  OnInspectorGUI () {
    12.         ColliderCreater colliderCreator = (ColliderCreator)target;
    13.         if(GUILayout.Button("End")) {